With the support of the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation, the Moscow Government and the Department of Culture of the city of Moscow

The 42nd MIFF. Apprehensions, Hopes, Prospects

The 42nd MIFF which was postponed due to the pandemic, is approaching fast. It will be held on the 1-8 of October 2020.
 
The new dates were coordinated with FIAPF (International Federation of Film Producers Associations) in the hope that the situation with COVID19 would have become stable. As we can see, not all of our hopes came true. A lot of questions and uncertainties remain.
 
For the greater part the Festival program was completed and settled with the right-holders in March. Now we have to get their agreement for the altered dates and sign new contracts. Moreover, the situation is constantly changing. Many major festivals were cancelled this year, others went on-line which changed their programs drastically. Premieres are postponed including those planned for certain festivals.
 
For now most of the previously selected films were approved for screenings on new dates. We had to (or managed to) change only a minor part of the program and include the recently completed works.
 
The situation with guests and jury members is less certain. Frankly speaking we were pleasantly surprised when many filmmakers expressed their readiness to come to Moscow even when travel restrictions still remain. Still we should not be too optimistic, many won’t be able to come.
 
The main difficulty lay in the necessity to map out several possible scenarios for the Festival to meet the unpredictable changes in the epidemic situation in this country and throughout the world, since it is an international festival. It seems we will have to break with certain traditions. When this or that guest is unable to come we will try to set up a video press conference (real or virtual) and perhaps Q and A sessions with the audience. The COVID situation makes desirable the prior recording of addresses and introductions to the screenings, and this has to be managed too.
 
Festival preparations are well underway. For several months we have been involved in intense correspondence with our partners and prospective participants and guests.
 
The effectiveness of our activities will be judged by viewers and journalists.
 
KIRILL RAZLOGOV
Program director of the MIFF

 

KIRILL RAZLOGOV HOLDS AN ONLINE PRESS CONFERENCE ABOUT THE FILM "EASIER FOR THE CAMEL..." WITH THE FILM'S DIRECTOR VALERIA BRUNI-TEDESCHI. 2003. 25 MMKF

При поддержке Министерства культуры Российской Федерации, правительства Москвы и департамента культуры города Москвы

42-й Московский. Опасения. Надежды. Перспективы

Стремительно приближаются даты перенесенного из-за пандемии 42-го Московского международного кинофестиваля – 1-8 октября 2020 года.
 
Новые даты были установлены по согласованию с ФИАПФ (Международной Федерацией Ассоциаций Кинопродюсеров) в надежде на то, что ситуация с Covid-19 к этому времени нормализуется. Как мы видим, надежды наши оправдались не вполне. Остается множество вопросов и неопределенностей. 
 
Программа фестиваля была в основном завершена и согласована с правообладателями еще в марте.  Теперь необходимо получить их согласие и перезаключить договора на показ каждого включенного в программу фильма на новые даты. При этом ситуация беспрерывно меняется. Многие крупные фестивали этого года отменены, многие переходят в онлайн-формат, что в корне меняет их программы. Откладываются премьеры, в том числе намеченные на определенные фестивали. 
 
На сегодняшний день большинство отобранных нами ранее фильмов было подтверждено на новые даты. Программу лишь в небольшой степени пришлось (или удалось) обновить недавно завершенными картинами.
 
Сложнее ситуация с гостями и членами жюри. Честно говоря, нас приятно  удивила готовность многих заново приглашенных кинематографистов приехать в Москву на фестиваль даже из тех стран, транспортные связи с которыми остаются пока ограниченными. И все же не следует впадать в обманчивый оптимизм – многие приехать не смогут.
 
Главная сложность – надо было выработать параллельно несколько сценариев проведения фестиваля, чтобы быть готовыми к непредсказуемым изменениям эпидемиологической обстановки, не только у нас, но и в разных регионах мира – фестиваль-то международный. Здесь, видимо, придется нарушить некоторые наши традиции. В том случае, если приезд того или иного гостя окажется невозможным, мы постараемся обеспечить трансляцию пресс-конференций (реальных и/или виртуальных), а возможно и сеансов вопросов и ответов со зрителями. Разумеется, в условиях коронавируса особо приветствуется предварительная запись выступлений и приветствий перед показом фильмов, и это тоже надо организовать. 
 
Подготовка фестиваля идет полным ходом. Уже несколько месяцев ведется интенсивная переписка с нашими партнерами и предполагаемыми участниками и гостями.
 
О результативности наших усилий судить зрителям и журналистам.
 
КИРИЛЛ РАЗЛОГОВ,
Программный директор ММКФ

 

КИРИЛЛ РАЗЛОГОВ ВЕДЕТ ОН-ЛАЙН ПРЕСС-КОНФЕРЕНЦИЮ ПО ФИЛЬМУ "ЛЕГЧЕ ВЕРБЛЮДУ..." С РЕЖИССЕРОМ ФИЛЬМА ВАЛЕРИЕЙ БРУНИ-ТЕДЕСКИ. 2003. 25 ММКФ