With the support of the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation, the Moscow Government and the Department of Culture of the city of Moscow

Third Age

THIS IS NOT A BURIAL, IT'S A RESURRECTION

Watching new films throughout the year we realized that the aging of the population on Earth has more and more bearing on the thematic and stylistic peculiarities of the screen works and first of all those which are festival-oriented. Not only the filmmakers themselves are silver-haired, the same is true about their stars and supporting cast who badly need interesting memorable characters of similar age.
 
Each year we offer a program called “Third Age” (the designation for people over 50) but it is increasingly becoming a program about the fourth age, about those over 75. This year its importance was highlighted by the COVID which took the heaviest toll on the aged people and countries facing problems of old-age welfare. 
 
This year the geography of the films is exceptionally wide-ranging (from Lesotho to Canada), they represent all sorts of genres. While the Korean “A Bedsore” adopts a traditional approach to the pains of aging, the Finnish black comedy “Ladies Of Steel” offers unorthodox solutions to complex problems.  The Canadian “Il pleuvait des oiseaux” and the movie from Lesotho “This Is Not A Burial, It's A Resurrection ” propose different models of relationships between people and generations in the context of the creative quest. Curiously, the greater part of the movies have been made by women directors from different parts of the planet.
 
KIRILL RAZLOGOV
 

IL PLEUVAIT DES OISEAUX

При поддержке Министерства культуры Российской Федерации, правительства Москвы и департамента культуры города Москвы

Третий возраст

ЭТО НЕ ПОХОРОНЫ, ЭТО ВОСКРЕСЕНИЕ/THIS IS NOT A BURIAL, IT'S A RESURRECTION

Отсматривая в течение года наиболее заметные фильмы текущего репертуара, начинаешь отдавать себе отчет в том, что старение населения земного шара оказывает все более сильное влияние на тематику и стилистику произведений экрана, в первую очередь тех, что ориентированы на фестивальное распространение. Увенчаны сединами не только их авторы – признанные мастера киноискусства, но и звезды - исполнители главных и характерных ролей, - которым необходимы интересные и яркие персонажи-сверстники.
 
Каждый год мы подбираем программу фильмов под рубрикой «Третий возраст» (так называют людей старше 50-ти), и она все чаще становится программой про возраст четвертый – про тех, кому за 75. В нынешнем году ее актуальность подчеркнула пандемия коронавируса, жертвами которого в первую очередь становились люди преклонного возраста и страны, столкнувшиеся с проблемами пенсионного обеспечения.
 
Диапазоне программы этого года чрезвычайно широк, и географически (от Лесото до Канады) и жанрово-тематически. Если корейская лента «Пролежни» рассматривает муки старения достаточно традиционно, то финская «черная трагикомедия» «Железные леди» предлагает неортодоксальные решения сложных проблем жизни. Канадская «Птицы падали дождем» и лента из Лесото «Это не похороны, а воскресение» предлагают разные варианты взаимоотношений между людьми и поколениями в контексте творческих исканий. Интересно отметить, что большинство фильмов программы сделаны женщинами-режиссерами с разных концов планеты.   
 
КИРИЛЛ РАЗЛОГОВ
 
 

ПТИЦЫ ПАДАЛИ ДОЖДЕМ/IL PLEUVAIT DES OISEAUX