With the support of the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation, the Moscow Government and the Department of Culture of the city of Moscow

Documentary Competition

stills
INFLUENCE

Director: DIANA NEILLE, RICHARD POPLAK
CANADA, SOUTH AFRICA
2020, 105'

This story of influence and weaponized communication centers on the infamous Lord Tim Bell and his associates, known for their controversial geopolitical spin-doctoring. Bell, who started his career in advertising, had an affinity for difficult briefs and “people with problems,” as he liked to call them. He designed campaigns for unpopular politicians, dictators, disgraced companies, and celebrities. Using a fascinating blend of archival footage and interviews with Bell and the people who worked with, for, or against him, the filmmakers conduct an impressively thorough investigation into the politicization of modern communication.

Diana Neille born in Johannesburg, South Africa. She is an award-winning journalist and filmmaker. She lived in Germany for a short stint before completing her Master of Science degree in journalism and documentary filmmaking at Columbia University in 2011. She has subsequently co-founded two media startups with the intention of fostering long-form investigative storytelling and documentary filmmaking.

Richard Poplak has become one of the most controversial political journalists in South Africa. He has worked as a freelance journalist and writer since 2005. Before he became a journalist, Richard trained as a filmmaker and fine artist at Montreal’s Concordia University (1992-1995) and has produced and directed numerous music videos, television commercials, and documentary films. He has reported from over 30 developing countries, and he was part of a team that won the prestigious Global Shining Light Award for investigative journalism.

ScriptRichard Poplak,
Diana Neille
CameraGlauco Bermudez,
Mark Ó Fearghaíl
MusicFlorencia Di Concilio
ProducerBob Moore,
Neil Brandt
ProductionStoryScope,
EyeSteelFilm
World salesEye Steel Film,
eyesteelfilm.com

Others

City Dream
Cheng Shi Meng
WEIJUN CHEN
CHINA
2019, 100'
ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS
DANIEL ROHER
USA
2019, 100'
CELESTIAL CRIMEA
KRYM NEBESNY
SERGEY DEBIZHEV
RUSSIA
2020, 87'
WE HOLD THE LINE
DIE UNBEUGSAMEN: GEFÄHRDETE PRESSEFREIHEIT AUF DEN PHILIPPINEN
MARC WIESE
GERMANY
2020, 93'
NOCTURNE
NOCTURNE
GWANJO JEONG
REPUBLIC OF KOREA
2019, 94'
HANDMADE
EVGENY GRIGOREV
RUSSIA
2020, 68'
HOMO SPERANS
CHELOVEK NEUNYVAYUSCHIY
ANDREY KONCHALOVSKY
RUSSIA
2020, 88'
THE SHAMAN
ANDREY OSIPOV
RUSSIA
2019, 64'

При поддержке Министерства культуры Российской Федерации, правительства Москвы и департамента культуры города Москвы

Конкурс документального кино

кадры из фильма
ВЛИЯНИЕ
INFLUENCE

Режиссер: ДАЙАНА НИЛЛ, РИЧАРД ПОПЛАК
КАНАДА, ЮАР
2020, 105'

Spin doctor — так называют политтехнологов, которые стараются минимизировать последствия от попадания в эфир негативной информации о своих клиентах. Это фильм об одном из специалистов в этой области, лорде Тиме Белле. Белл, начинавший в рекламе, всегда имел склонность к "людям с проблемами", как он их называл. Действуя напористо и жестоко, он разрабатывал и проводил пиар-кампании для непопулярных политиков, диктаторов и беспринципных корпораций. Используя архивные материалы, интервью с Беллом, с его коллегами и оппонентами, Дайана Нилл и Ричард Поплак представляют впечатляющее исследование политизации современных средств массовых коммуникаций.

Дайана Нилл родилась в Йоханнесбурге, ЮАР. Режиссёр, журналист. Некоторое время прожила в Германии, в 2011 году получила степень магистра журналистики и документального кино Колумбийского университета. Создала два медийных стартапа, намереваясь продолжать заниматься крупными журналистскими расследованиями и документальным кино

Ричард Поплак – один из самых неоднозначных журналистов в Южной Африке. Как писатель и журналист начал работать в 2005 году. Ранее учился режиссуре и живописи в монреальском университете (1992-1995), был продюсером и режиссёром музыкальных видео, рекламных роликов и документальных лент. Вёл репортажи более чем из 30 развивающихся стран, входил в команду, удостоенную награды Global Shining Light за журналистское расследование.

CценарийРичард Поплак,
Дайана Нилл
ОператорГлауко Бермудес,
Марк О’Фиргейл
МузыкаФлоренсиа ди Кончилло
ПродюсерБоб Мур,
Нил Брандт
ПроизводствоStoryScope,
EyeSteelFilm
ПраваEye Steel Film,
eyesteelfilm.com

Другие фильмы программы

Городская мечта
City Dream
Cheng Shi Meng
Вэйцзюнь Чэнь
КИТАЙ
2019, 100'
КОГДА МЫ БЫЛИ БРАТЬЯМИ
ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS
ДЭНИЕЛ РОЭР
США
2019, 100'
КРЫМ НЕБЕСНЫЙ
CELESTIAL CRIMEA
KRYM NEBESNY
CЕРГЕЙ ДЕБИЖЕВ
РОССИЯ
2020, 87'
МЫ НЕ СДАЁМСЯ
WE HOLD THE LINE
DIE UNBEUGSAMEN: GEFÄHRDETE PRESSEFREIHEIT AUF DEN PHILIPPINEN
МАРК ВАЙСЕ
ГЕРМАНИЯ
2020, 93'
НОКТЮРН
NOCTURNE
ГВАНЧО ЧОН
РЕСПУБЛИКА КОРЕЯ
2019, 94'
ХЕНД МЕЙД
HANDMADE
ЕВГЕНИЙ ГРИГОРЬЕВ
РОССИЯ
2020, 68'
ЧЕЛОВЕК НЕУНЫВАЮЩИЙ
HOMO SPERANS
CHELOVEK NEUNYVAYUSCHIY
АНДРЕЙ КОНЧАЛОВСКИЙ
РОССИЯ
2020, 88'
ШАМАН
THE SHAMAN
АНДРЕЙ ОСИПОВ
РОССИЯ
2019, 64'