SPECIAL PRIZE FOR THE OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT IN THE CAREER OF ACTING AND DEVOTION TO THE PRINCIPLES OF K.STANISLAVSKY'S SCHOOL WENT TO RALPH FIENNES

In Russians’ imagining internationally acclaimed film star and an unsmiling sex symbol (as he is sometimes referred to) Ralph Fiennes is the purest manifestation of Englishness with its specific manner and bearing. Maybe due to a wide diversity of his screen personifications we guess that he is never playing himself on screen. And we know that when depicting the sadistic Nazi officer Goeth in  Schindler's List, a gangster boss in In Bruges, the iconic villain Voldemort in four Harry Potter films or a psychotic killer in Red Dragon to say nothing of Professor Moriarty in Holmes & Watson, there’s always a counterpoint to the visible character. There is always the suggestive agenda he knows and includes into his acting, revealing some profound and inapproachable inner world of the reserved person. His own boundless imagination benefits the range of Ralph Fiennes’ versatile screen types from a Hungarian count Laszlo de Almasy, the protagonist of Anthony Minghella’s multi-Oscar-winning The English Patient (and maybe the closest role to the actor, since he is playing a man who conceals as much as he can, firstly because such is his nature) to the wittingly stylized concierge Monsieur Gustave in The Grand Budapest Hotel by Wes Anderson.
 
And in all this multiplicity we feel special affectional drive towards Ralph Fiennes’ “Russian” projects - A Month in the Country, Onegin, and the latest up to date The White  Crow. When asked where his affinity with Russian culture comes from, the actor laconically answers: “All I know is that I have felt hugely rewarded in feeling Dostoevsky or Turgenev and Pushkin…  Particularly there's a great humanity in Chekhov”.
 
It should be noted, that Fiennes has long felt at home in the Russian repertoire, starting with the theatre performance of Fathers and Sons. In the 1990s Ralph Fiennes read Pushkin’s verse novel Eugene Onegin  and being highly enthralled shared his impressions with his sister, Martha Fiennes. Eventually in 1999 Fiennes played the title role in the screen adaptation of Onegin directed by Martha; his brother Magnus composed the score and Ralph helped to produce it. The actor felt some close alliance with this enigmatic hero of Russian classics: “Maybe I sublimate my  howl of pain,- he noted lately. - Maybe I put it in my acting. I can be me more easily when I am Onegin than when I am Ralph Fiennes”. In 2016 Vera Glagoleva offered him the role of Mikhail Rakitin in her Turgenev’s adaptation of A Month in the Country  which made him to learn the Russian language. No wonder he speaks Russian in The White Crow, a story of the defection of the ballet dancer Rudolf Nureyev from the Soviet Union in 1961, which appeared Fiennes’s third film behind the camera after brisk and daring Shakespearian Coriolanus and The Invisible Woman about secret love of Charles Dickens. 
It took two Russian casting directors 18 months to find a suitable Nureyev in Oleg Ivenko, a Ukrainian-born soloist from the Tatar State Ballet. What mostly struck the filmmaker in this project was Nureyev’s ferocious will to realise himself as a dancer. “This moved me, he says. - I didn't come to the film because of a love of ballet. I wanted to make the film because I was moved by the dynamic interior question of the young Nureyev”. This experience once again made Ralph Fiennes to visit Russia, where his crew was  allowed access to the State Hermitage Museum – the only one since Russian director Alexander Sokurov had shot there  Russian Ark. And it stands high to hear from such a close-mouthed person as Ralph Fiennes a confession: “Having gone there a few times I feel very befriended and embraced in Russia. I feel a part of me is opened up or answered”.
 
Nina Tsyrkun

СПЕЦИАЛЬНЫЙ ПРИЗ "ЗА ПОКОРЕНИЕ ВЕРШИН АКТЕРСКОГО МАСТЕРСТВА И ВЕРНОСТЬ ПРИНЦИПАМ ШКОЛЫ К.С. СТАНИСЛАВСКОГО" ВРУЧЕН РЭЙФУ ФАЙНСУ

Мировая кинозвезда и «неулыбающийся секс-символ», как его окрестили критики, в России всегда сдержанный и немногословный Рэйф Файнс воспринимается как воплощение английскости. Вероятно, благодаря безграничному разнообразию его экранных ролей у зрителей создается впечатление, что он никогда не играет самого себя. Так что мы понимаем: кто-то совсем незнаемый нами скрывается за фигурами нацистского офицера Гота в «Списке Шиндлера», босса гангстеров в «Залечь на дно в Брюгге», иконического злодея Вольдеморта из фильмов про Гарри Поттера или убийцей-параноиком из «Красного дракона», не говоря уж о профессоре Мориарти в недавней ленте «Холмс и Ватсон». Актеру всегда удается вложить в экранный образ некое свое тайное знание о человеке, которого он играет, приоткрывая завесу над недостижимым чужим внутренним миром. Собственное безграничное воображение помогает Рэйфу Файнсу создавать самые разнообразные экранные типы – от венгерского графа Ласло де Алмази, протагониста мульти-оскароносносного «Английского пациента» Энтони Мингеллы (может быть, самого близкого ему по характеру персонажа – человека, отличающегося особой скрытностью прежде всего потому, что такова его натура) до причудливо стилизованного консьержа Густава в «Отеле ‘Гранд Будапешт’» Уэса Андерсона.
 
И во всем этом разнообразии нас особенно привлекают «русские проекты» Рэйфа Файнса – «Две женщины», «Онегин» и последний по времени «Нуреев. Белый ворон». Когда ему задают вопрос о том, откуда это сродство с русской культурой, он лаконично отвечает:  «Могу лишь сказать, что значительно обогатился, прочувствовав Достоевского, Тургенева или Пушкина. И отдельная статья – глубочайший чеховский гуманизм».
Надо сказать, что Файнс давно освоился в русском репертуаре, начав с работы в театральном спектакле «Отцы и дети». А в 1990-х он читал пушкинский роман в стихах «Евгений Онегин», который захватил его, что он поделился своими впечатлениями с сестрой Мартой. В итоге в 1999 году Файнс продюсировал и сыграл заглавную роль в экранизации «Онегина», режиссером которой стала Марта Файнс, и для которой его брат Магнус написал музыку. Актер почувствовал внутреннюю связь с этим загадочным героем русской классики: «Может быть, здесь я сублимировал собственную боль. Может быть, выразил ее через свою игру. Мне легче чувствовать себя Евгением Онегиным, чем Рэйфом Файнсом». В 2016 году Вера Глаголева пригласила его на роль Михаила Ракитина в своей экранизации «Месяца в деревне» Тургенева под названием «Две женщины», и это подвигло актера учить русский язык. Так что неудивительно, что он заговорил по-русски в «Белом вороне», истории невозвращения в 1961 году из заграничного турне в Советский Союз артиста балета Рудольфа Нуреева. Это третья режиссерская работа Рэйфа Файнса после дерзко осовремененного шекспировского «Кориолана» и «Невидимой женщины» о тайной любви Чарльза Диккенса. 
 
Полтора года два кастинг-директора искали подходящую кандидатуру на заглавную роль, пока ни нашли Олега Ивенко, украинца, солиста Татарского государственного балета. Режиссера в этом проекте более всего занимало всепоглощающее стремление Нуреева реализоваться как балетного танцовщика. «Это меня и тронуло, - говорит он. – Я взялся за работу не из-за любви к балету. Мне захотелось снять этот фильм, потому что  меня чрезвычайно взволновала страстная натура молодого Нуреева». Опыт работы над фильмом вновь привел Рэйфа Файнса в Россию, где ему разрешили съемку в Эрмитаже – впервые после единственного прецедента, когда Александр Сокуров снимал там «Русский ковчег». И дорогого стоит признание столь по-английски сдержанного Файнса: «Несколько раз побывав в России, я всегда чувствовал себя будто в ее теплых объятьях. Как будто внезапно открылась какая-то частица меня, и я нашел дружеский отклик».
 
Нина Цыркун