FREE THOUGHT

In the case of our Festival we can often predict the winners. This year is no exception. The film which won the main Spanish film award Goya was seen by our viewers a year earlier. It was “The Silence of Others” by Robert Bahar and Almudena Carracedo. It was the same with the main French-language film award. This year the Cesar went to “So Help Me God”, which was screened at the previous MIFF, so this year the audience will see its main competitor for the Cesar, the film “De chaque instant” by the outstanding French documentary filmmaker Nicolas Philibert, a thrilling story about a school of medical nurses full of unexpected discoveries.
 
Most certainly we will be screening the film “Meeting Gorbachev” by two classics Werner Herzog and Andre Singer. It was the opening film in Leipzig and was one of the main events of the festival in Toronto. The Moscow audience will finally get to know the work of another documentary classic, the Indian Anand Patwardhan. It is incredible, but it seems his films have not yet been shown in this country. This time we will screen his “Reason”, made at the level of his best films like “In Memory of Friends” or "In the Name of God". “Reason” is a large-scale epic which runs for almost four hours. It won the main prize in Amsterdam at one of the IDFA chief documentary festivals.
 
Many viewers remember the provocative satiric comedy “The Ambassador” by Mads Brügger. It was screened in the “Free Thought” program in 2011 and was a huge success. For the last six years Brügger has been trying to solve the greatest crime of the 20th century – the death of the UN Secretary General Dag Hammarskjöld in Congo, which remained a mystery for almost six decades. In “Cold Case Hammarskjöld” he has managed to solve the mystery, at least his conclusions look rather convincing. His virtuoso directing won Brügger a prize at Sundance.
 
We could not possibly overlook another sensation of the Sundance IFF, the Macedonian “Honeyland” by Tamara Kotevska and Ljubomir Stefanov. They took almost all the prizes in the main competition including the Grand-Prix, the Special Jury Prize, the prize for the best camerawork.
 
The past year saw a rise in Scandinavian documentary filmmaking. Most certainly we took it into consideration. Consequently there are a number of Scandinavian films in the Documentary competition including the Swedish “The Raft” and the Danish “False Confessions”.
 
Two Israeli films “Advocate” and “Wild-Life, Death and Love in a Wildlife Hospital” are sure to stir a lot of interest and controversy, as well as the American Oscar nominee “RBG” and “Quicksilver Chronicles” shot in the best traditions of “direct cinema”. We should single out the Chinese “One Child Nation”, the Australian “Island of Hungry Ghosts” and the Afghan “Midnight Traveller”
 
And finally we offer several special screenings of documentaries. In addition to “Women of GULAG” and Sergei Yastrzhembsky’s new work we will introduce to the audience the project by Nikolay Izvolov who devoted several years to the restoration of Dziga Vertov’s first feature “The Anniversary of the Revolution”. No more than 12 minutes of the 2-hour film survived. It is difficult to overestimate the importance of this event because it introduces our country into the mainstream of the world festival movement in this sphere which is in high demand today.
 
Grigory Libergal

СВОБОДНАЯ МЫСЛЬ

C нашим фестивалем часто получается, что многих лауреатов мы угадываем наперед. Не исключение и год нынешний: лауреата главной испанской кинопремии «Гойя» зрители ММКФ посмотрели еще в прошлом году – ее получил фильм «Молчание других» Роберта Бахара и Альмудены Карраседо. Аналогично с главной франкоязычной кинопремией: «Сезара» в этом году вручили ленте «Ни судья, ни подсудимая», показанной на ММКФ год назад, так что в этом году московские зрители увидят ее главного конкурента в борьбе за «Сезара», фильм крупнейшего французского документалиста Никола Филибера «Каждую секунду» (De chaque instant) – увлекательная, полная неожиданных открытий лента о школе медицинских сестер – и братьев.
 
Естественно, мы покажем фильм двух классиков - Вернера Херцога и Андре Сингера «Встреча с Горбачевым». Он открывал фестиваль в Лейпциге и стал одним из главных событий фестиваля в Торонто. Московские зрители наконец-то познакомятся с творчеством другого классика мировой документалистики, индийца Ананда Патвардхана – поразительно, но вроде бы его картины до сих пор у нас не шли, зато теперь мы покажем его последнюю работу «Разум»– это снова уровень его лучших старых картин, таких как «Памяти друзей» или «Во имя бога». «Разум» - это масштабная фреска, которая идет почти четыре часа, фильм победил в Амстердаме на одном из главных документальных фестивалей ИДФА.
 
Многие в свое время запомнили сатирическую документальную комедию-провокацию Мадса Брюггера «Посол» - она была в программе «Свободной мысли» в 2011 году и прошла тогда «на ура». Последние шесть лет Брюггер работал над расследованием одного из самых нашумевших преступлений ХХ века, гибели в 1961 году в Конго Генерального секретаря ООН Дага Хаммаршельда, которая оставалась загадкой почти шесть десятилетий. В фильме «Безнадежное дело Хаммаршельда» ему удается эту тайну распутать, во всяком случае выводы, к которым он приходит, выглядят вполне доказательно. А виртуозная режиссура принесла Брюггеру приз Санданса.
 
Мы не могли пропустить и еще одного триумфатора Санданса, македонскую картину «Земля меда». Тамара Котевская и Любомир Стефанов получили за нее чуть ли не все призы международного конкурса – и Гран-при, и Спецприз жюри, и приз за лучшую операторскую работу.
 
Минувший год был отмечен подъемом скандинавской документалистики –  мы, естественно, не прошли мимо, чему свидетельством и шведский «Плот», и датские «Ложные признания», и несколько скандинавских картин в документальном конкурсе.
 
Наверняка вызовут интерес и споры и обе израильские картины – «Адвокат» и «Дикие», и американские – номинант на «Оскар» «РБГ», и сделанные в лучших традициях «прямого кино» «Хроники ртути». Нужно отметить еще и китайскую «Страну одного ребенка», и австралийский «Остров голодных духов», и афганского «Полночного путника». 
 
Наконец, мы организуем несколько спецпоказов документальных фильмов – и среди них, помимо «Женщин ГУЛАГа» и новой работы Сергея Ястржембского, будет наконец-то представлен нашей кинообщественности проект Николая Изволова, который несколько лет посвятил восстановлению первой полнометражной картины Дзиги Вертова «Годовщина революции»; от нее, как известно, сохранилось всего 12 минут – из двух часов. Это – событие, важность которого трудно переоценить, поскольку оно выводит нашу страну в основное русло мирового фестивального движения и по этому направлению, такому востребованному сегодня.
 
Григорий Либергал