PATHS OF TURKISH CINEMA

As part of the cultural program of the Year of Turkish Culture and Tourism in Russia the 41st MIFF in collaboration with the Ministry of Culture and Tourism of Turkey offers a retrospective of contemporary Turkish movies.
 
“The Road” by Yilmaz Guney, which won the Palme d’Or at the 1982 Cannes IFF, paved the way for Turkish cinema which had been virtually unknown to the international public. But it took another couple of decades for the international film community to acknowledge a boom in Turkish cinema, to start talking about the “Turkish miracle”, about the explosion of cinematic energy in that part of the world.
 
First of all it is associated with the author’s cinema, with the names of Nuri Bilge Ceylan, who won the Cannes Palme d’Or for Turkey in 2014 for his “Winter Sleep”, Semih Kaplanoglu, winner of the Berlin Golden Bear in 2010 (“Honey”), Yesim Ustaoglu, whose debut feature “The Track” was a discovery of the Moscow International Film Festival in 1995.
 
Lately the “Turkish trace” is becoming more and more noticeable at the MIFF.
 
Let us recall the latest triumphs of Turkish movies in Moscow. In 2013 the poignant social drama “Zerre” by Erdem Tepegoz won the main prize, the Golden St.George and the actress Jale Arikan got the Silver St.George as the Best Actress.
 
In 2014 the touching, funny autobiographical movie “La prunelle de mes yeux » by  Hakki Kurtulus and Melik Saraçoglu won the greatest number of prizes (3) including the Special Jury Prize “Silver St.George”. At the same festival  Orhan Tekeoglu’s “I Loved You So Much” was screened out of competition and was a great success.
 
At the 39th MIFF “Yellow Heat” by Fikret Reyhan brought him a Silver St.George for the best direction.
 
On the occasion of the 100th anniversary of Turkish cinema the 37th MIFF offered a program called “Turkish Cinema Yesterday and Today”.
 
The present retrospective called “Paths of Turkish Cinema” consists of new movies which have already become widely known at home and abroad, participated in and won awards at prominent festivals of the world.
 
Among them are “The Wild Pear Tree” by the leader of the new Turkish cinema Nuri Bilge Ceylan, which premiered at the 71st Cannes Competition, and “Grain” (Turkey, Germany, France, Sweden, Qatar) by the master of Turkish cinema Semih Kaplanoglu. It is a science fiction drama, its international cast features the French actor and director Jean-Marc Barr and the Russian actor Grigory Dobrynin. The film won the Grand Prix of the Tokyo IFF.
 
The retrospective includes the political film “The Announcement” by  Mahmut Fazil Coskun (Special Prize of the Horizons program in Venice), Vuslat Saraçoglu’s debut “Debt” (main prize of the Istanbul IFF, awards to the best actress and for best editing at the Bosporus IFF), “The Pigeon” by Banu Sivaci about a teenager who finds spiritual harmony among pigeons on the roof of his house (participated in the Berlinale-2018 in the program Generations); “Brothers” by Omur Atay dealing with “crime and punishment”. Orhan Tekeoglu’s “Time to Leave” has been included in the program of the Istanbul IFF-2019. The author’s cinema which forms the bulk of our program is complemented by the Turkish hit “The Bald Pilot”, a thriller melodrama about love and considerate treatment of… horses.
 
This striking, clear-cut “Turkish trace” will hopefully remain in the memory of our viewers, all the more so because the movies will be introduced by their authors – directors, actors, producers.
 
Evgeniya Tirdatova, curator of the program

ДОРОГИ ТУРЕЦКОГО КИНО

В рамках "перекрестного" Года культуры и туризма России и Турции 41-й Московский международный кинофестиваль совместно с Министерством культуры и туризма Турции проводит ретроспективу современных турецких фильмов. 
 
«Дорога» Йылмаза Гюнея и Шерифа Герена, получившая  в 1982 году Золотую пальмовую ветвь Каннского кинофестиваля, "открыла дорогу" кинематографу Турции, до тех пор зрителю за пределами страны почти не известному, на международный экран. Однако понадобилась еще пара десятилетий, чтобы мировая кинообщественность заговорила о настоящем буме турецкого кино, о «турецком чуде», о мощном взрыве кинематографической энергии в этой части света.
 
В первую очередь, его связывают с кино «авторским», с такими именами, как Нури Бильге Джейлан, принесший Турции вторую Золотую пальму в 2014 году («Зимняя спячка»), Семих Капланоглу, обладатель Берлинского «Золотого медведя» 2010 года  («Мед»), Йешим Устаоглу, чья дебютная лента «След» стала открытием Московского кинофестиваля 1995 года.
 
"Турецкий след" за последние годы на Московском международном кинофестивале становится все более заметным. Напомним недавние успехи турецких фильмов в Москве. В 2013-м году острая социальная драма Эрдема Тепегёза "Частица" получает главный приз "Золотой Георгий", а актриса Жале Арыкан становится обладательницей "Серебряного Георгия" за лучшую женскую роль. В  2014-м году трогательная, смешная, автобиографическая лента Мелика Сарачоглу и Хаккы Куртулуша "Свет моих очей" становится обладательницей наибольшего количества призов (3), среди которых Специальный приз жюри "Серебряный Георгий". На том же фестивале с успехом прошел показ внеконкурсного фильма Орхана Текеоглу «Моя большая любовь».
 
"Серебряным Георгием" за лучшую режиссерскую работу на позапрошлом Московском МКФ был отмечен Фикрет Рейхан, постановщик фильма "Желтая жара".
 
На 37-м ММКФ была показана программа под названием  «Турецкое кино вчера и сегодня», приуроченная к 100-летию кино Турции.
 
Нынешняя ретроспектива под названием "Дороги турецкого кино" составлена из новых, но уже успевших прославиться внутри страны и за ее пределами фильмов, участников и победителей крупнейших фестивалей мира.
 
Среди них "Дикая груша" лидера нового турецкого кино Нури Бильге Джейлана, мировая премьера которой состоялась в конкурсе 71-го Каннского кинофестиваля, и "Зерно", копродукция (Турция, Германия, Франция, Швеция, Катар) мастера турецкого кинематографа Семиха Капланоглу. Это научно-фантастическая драма, в международном актерском составе которой французский актер и режиссер Жан-Марк Барр и российский актер Григорий Добрыгин. Картина завоевала Гран-при Токийского МКФ.
 
В ретроспективу вошла политическая лента "Заявление" Махмута Фазыла Джошкуна (Специальный приз жюри программы "Горизонты" в Венеции); "Долг", дебют Вуслат Сарачоглу (главный приз Стамбульского МКФ, приз за лучшую женскую роль и лучший монтаж на Босфорском фестивале); "Голубь" Бану Сываджи о подростке, который обретает душевное равновесие среди голубей, на крыше родного дома (из программы "Поколение" Берлинале-2018); "Братья", дебют  Омюра Атая на тему "преступление и наказание". Документальная лента "Пора расставания" Орхана Текеоглу включена в программу Стамбульского МКФ-2019. Авторское кино, в основном, представленное в нашей программе, дополнит хит турецкого проката "Чемпион", остросюжетная мелодрама о любви и внимательном отношении... к лошадям.  
 
Этот яркий, отчетливый «турецкий след», надо надеяться, останется в памяти наших зрителей, тем более что картины будут представлять их создатели – режиссеры, актеры, продюсеры. 
 
Евгения Тирдатова, куратор программы