THE FORTY FIRST

The present MIFF is taking place at the time of deep changes in the film industry and the festival movement. The advent of international streaming (primarily the activities of NETFIX and AMAZON) transforming our notions of a premiere screening, which are fundamental for class A festivals, to which the MIFF belongs, clash with the peculiarities of cinema and festival legislation in separate countries and the EU as a whole. A number of problems arose from the shift in the festival dates, which for reasons beyond our control was belatedly coordinated with FIAPF, International Federation of Film Producers Associations, regulating the cooperation between festivals and the right holders.
 
There are other more important factors in shaping the program: the change of generations in cinema, a shift in the tastes of the critics and the various audience groups, global and local changes in the cultural, economic, technological and artistic context which we often overlooked. For these reasons the present program contains new (or thoroughly forgotten old) elements which will hopefully heighten the polemics inside and outside the Festival.
 
While selecting films for the competition and out-of-competition screenings we tried to proceed from the current cinematic process which is very much unlike the homogenous film art of the classic periods. The art-house space will include premieres of forthcoming commercial hits. Besides the Competition, Russian and international premieres will appear in the program “Specter”. The aging of the population of the World and especially of the Eastern countries will be reflected in the revived “Third Age” program.
 
Somewhat belatedly we react to the growing influence of TV series in national and international culture. The program “The First Episode” introduces the latest TV series from Russian and other countries into the Festival screenings.
 
In addition to Russian works the Festival business venue presents projects by our Finnish and Turkish colleagues as well as the pitching of debut films. Our immediate plans include steps to turn it into a truly international venue despite all the sanctions and other obstacles.
 
Alongside the innovations which many viewers will consider questionable, there will be the traditional programs which will hopefully evade the decay and stagnation. Starting with “Eight and a Half Movies” to “Euphoria” and “Russian trace” they lay the basis for the stability of the MIFF on the eve of the forthcoming shakeups in the filmmaking process as a whole.
 
Kirill Razlogov
Festival Program Director

СОРОК ПЕРВЫЙ

Нынешний Московский МКФ проходит в период глубинных мутаций как в киноиндустрии, так и в фестивальном мире. Пришествие международного стриминга (в первую очередь активность компаний NETFLIX и AMAZON), ломающего фундаментальные для фестивалей  так называемого класса «А», к которому принадлежит и ММКФ, представления о премьерности, сталкивается с особенностями законодательства о кино и фестивалях как в отдельных странах, так и в Европейском Союзе в целом. Для нас определенные трудности создало изменение дат проведения фестиваля, которое не по нашей вине было поздно согласовано ФИАПФ – Международной федерацией ассоциаций кинопродюсеров, регулирующей взаимодействие фестивалей с правообладателями.
 
При формировании программы важно и другое: смена поколений в кино, мутация вкусов критиков и разных групп зрителей и глобальные и локальные изменения культурного, экономического, технологического и художественного контекста, чему мы нередко не уделяли достаточного внимания. Поэтому в нынешней программе появились новые (или хорошо забытые старые) элементы, которые, надеюсь, обострят полемику как внутри, так и вокруг фестиваля.
 
В конкурсе и внеконкурсных программах мы стремились отталкиваться в первую очередь от текущего кинопроцесса, далекого от однородности киноискусства классических периодов. В стихии артхауса появятся и премьеры грядущих коммерческих хитов. Международные и российские премьеры, помимо конкурса, составят программу Спектр. Старение населения земного шара и соответственно киногероев, особенно в странах Востока, найдет отражение в возрождении программы «Третий возраст». 
 
С некоторым опозданием мы реагируем на растущее значение телевизионных сериалов в отечественной и мировой культуре. Программа «Первая серия» вводит в фестивальный оборот презентацию новейших сериалов из России и других стран.
 
Деловая площадка кинофестиваля, помимо российской повестки, включает в себя презентацию проектов наших финских и турецких коллег, а также питчинг дебютных картин. В наших ближайших планах - придание ей подлинно международного масштаба, невзирая на размножение разного рода санкций и прочих препятствий.
 
Наряду с нововведениями, которые многим покажутся спорными, зрители найдут в репертуаре и традиционные программы, которым, хотелось бы надеяться, удается избежать опасностей застоя и стагнации. От «Восьми с половиной фильмов» и «Эйфории» до «Русского следа» закладывается фундамент стабильности ММКФ накануне грядущих катаклизмов в кинопроцессе в целом. 
 
Кирилл Разлогов
Программный директор фестиваля