XXth CENTURY OF HUNGARIAN CINEMA

The Hungarian National Archive channels a lot of effort into restoring old films, bringing them back to new life, allowing the new generation of viewers to see the masterpieces. To celebrate the 100th anniversary of the Hungarian film classic Zoltán Fábri all his movies were restored in 2017. Now the leading world film festivals include many of them into their programs.
 
All the films by the outstanding contemporary Hungarian director István Szabó, who has recently turned 80, have been restored and digitized. 
 
The success of Ildikó Enyedi’s “Of Body and Soul” (the main prize at last year’s Berlin IFF) has spurred interest in her debut work “My Twentieth Century”, which won the Camera d’or at the 1989 Cannes IFF and brought her worldwide fame. “My Twentieth Century” has also been restored by the Hungarian National Archive.
 
In the near future the Archive plans to refresh the most significant works by Károly Makk, Sándor Sára, Béla Tarr, Márta Mészáros, Zoltán Huszárik and many others.
 
This year the Moscow International Film Festival in collaboration with the Hungarian National Film Archive presents a program of “resurrected” classical Hungarian masterpieces. The retrospective covers a huge part of the history of Hungarian cinema, almost the entire 20th century. Some films in the retrospective are little known, others are totally unfamiliar to our audience.
 
Among them is the recently discovered unique 1915 film “The Udesirable/A tolonc” by the director Mihály Kertész Kaminer who is better known as Michael Curtiz. Born in Budapest, he made the first ever film in Hungarian in 1912 and moved to Hollywood in 1926 where he made a brilliant career. It is interesting to compare the modest melodrama “The Udesirable” based on folk material, with his future famous projects like the legendary “Casablanca”, which won three Oscars, or his adventure movies with Errol Flynn. 
 
Moscow viewers will also see one of the first sound movies which is still a favorite with the Hungarian public. It is the situation comedy “Hyppolit the Butler” shot in 1931 by István Székely (who later also emigrated to the United States and was known in Hollywood as Steve Sekely). In 2000 Hungarian critics named “Hyppolit the Butler” among 12 best movies of all Hungarian cinema.
 
The movie “It Happened in Europe” directed by Géza von Radványi and written by the playwright and poet Béla Balázs in 1947 narrates the story of survival of Hungarian Gavroches in the hard post-war years. It seems so fresh and modern as though it were made only recently. This movie is considered the key work of its period, the starting point of all post-war Hungarian cinema.
 
The legendary couple Vladimir Vysotsky and Marina Vlady appeared on the screen as a duo only once in Márta Mészáros’s “Women” (1977). Thanks to the efforts of Hungarian archivists this movie also has a new life.
 
Today at the end of the second decade of the 21st century Ildikó Enyedi ‘s “My Twentieth Century”, which was already mentioned (in 2000 the movie was also named by Hungarian film critics among 12 best national films) speaks about the beginning of the 20th century. And about the beginning of cinema.
 
The program of restored Hungarian classics will open with the film “Age of Illusions” (1964). István Szabó himself will introduce his own movie shot in the spirit of the French New Wave.
 
Evgenia Tirdatova

XX ВЕК ВЕНГЕРСКОГО КИНО

Венгерский национальный киноархив проводит активную работу по реставрации фильмов прошлых лет, возрождая их к новой жизни, знакомя с ними новые поколения зрителей. К 100-летию со дня рождения классика венгерского кинематографа Золтана Фабри, которое отмечалось в 2017 году, были восстановлены все его картины, многие из них включают сегодня в свои программы крупнейшие кинофестивали мира.
 
Оцифрованы и отреставрированы все венгерские фильмы выдающегося режиссера современности, недавно отметившего свое 80-летие, Иштвана Сабо. 
 
На волне успеха фильма Ильдико Эньеди "О теле и душе" (главный приз прошлогоднего Берлинского МКФ) поднялась новая волна интереса к дебютной ленте Эньеди "Мой XX век", которая в 1989 году завоевала Золотую камеру Каннского фестиваля и принесла ей мировую известность. "Мой XX век" также восстановлен Венгерским национальным архивом.  
 
В ближайших планах киноархива  - обновление наиболее значительных работ  Кароя Макка, Шандора Шара, Бела Тарра, Марты Месарош, Золтана Хусарика и многих других.
 
Московский международный кинофестиваль совместно с Венгерским национальным киноархивом представляет в этом году программу "воскрешенных" шедевров венгерской классики. Ретроспектива охватывает огромный период истории венгерского кино, почти весь XX век. Некоторые из картин этой программы малоизвестны, а иные совсем не известны нашим зрителям.
 
Среди них - уникальная, недавно обнаруженная лента 1915 года "Нежеланная"  (The Udesirable/A tolonc) режиссера Михая Кертеса Каминера, который больше известен под именем Майкл Кёртис. Родившийся в Будапеште и снявший в 1912 году первый в истории кино фильм на венгерском языке, он в 1926 году перебрался в Голливуд, где его ждала блестящая карьера. Скромную мелодраму "Нежеланная", основанную на национальном материале, любопытно сравнить с будущими знаменитыми постановками режиссера - легендарной, увенчанной тремя "Оскарами", "Касабланкой", приключенческими лентами с Эрролом Флинном.
 
Московским зрителям предстоит также знакомство с одним из самых первых звуковых и одним из до сих пор самых любимых зрителями фильмов в истории венгерского кино. Это комедия положений "Лакей Ипполит", которую в 1931 году поставил Иштван Секей (впоследствии также эмигрировавший в Штаты и известный в Голливуде под именем Стив Секели). В 2000 году "Лакей Ипполит" был включен венгерскими критиками в список 12-ти лучших фильмов национального кинематографа за все время его существования.  
 
Фильм Гезы фон Радваньи "Где-то в Европе", поставленный им по сценарию драматурга и поэта Белы Балажа в 1947 году и рассказывающий о том, как выживают венгерские "гавроши" в тяжелые последние дни Второй мировой войны, смотрится так свежо и современно, будто он сделан сегодня. Именно этот фильм считается ключевым, главным фильмом этого периода, началом всего послевоенного кино Венгрии. 
 
Легендарной паре - Владимир Высоцкий и Марина Влади - появиться вместе на экране довелось лишь один раз - в фильме Марты Месарош "Их двое" (1977). Эта картина усилиями венгерских архивистов также возрождается к новой жизни.
 
"Мой XX век" Ильдико Эньеди, о котором уже шла речь (фильм также включен венгерскими критиками в 2000-м году в список 12-ти лучших национальных фильмов), сегодня, в конце второго десятилетия 21-го века, расскажет о том, как начинался век 20-й. И как начиналось кино. 
 
Программа отреставрированной венгерской классики откроется фильмом "Пора мечтаний" (1964). Свой дебютный фильм, сделанный в духе французской "новой волны", представит сам автор - Иштван Сабо.
 
Евгения Тирдатова