TIME OF WOMEN

What is women’s cinema? Film scholars have come to the conclusion that it is hard to give a precise definition of this phenomenon. It is neither a genre, nor a movement, it does not have national boundaries or clear-cut aesthetic peculiarities. On the other hand the notion “women’s cinema” is often mentioned in cinematic and political debates, it draws attention at large-scale film festivals: one might recall the march on the 12th of May, 2018 at the Cannes Film Festival, when 82 women paraded along the red carpet demanding a wider representation of films by women directors at the Festival. The number of participants equaled the number of films by female directors screened at the Festival over its 71-year history. The result of the protest, which was covered in all the leading media, was a document, signed by the Festival Art Director Thierry Frémaux, which specified a quota for such films. Gender equality is no longer a mere object of protests, but a reality which is confirmed by programs at other film festivals. For instance 41 per cent of films in the program of the latest Berlin Film Festival were made by women directors.
 
This year the program “Time of Women” at the Moscow IFF is not limited to features alone. Women have always been a prominent force in documentary filmmaking. Facing fierce competition, women hone their style and help construct an image of a woman different from the  voyeuristic one which was dominant in cinema in the patriarchal times and represented women as passive erotic objects in a spectacle. The present intent and politicized look gravitates towards “healthy narcissism” and the study of female psychology, the subtleties of behavior, amorous experience, sexual adventures, suffering, victories, conquests and the desire to overcome the ontological trauma of being a weak and oppressed woman.
 
The cinema of female directors overturns the image of man formed in the past century. It helps to see the world in a totally different light and the growing desire of women to make films offers prospects of correcting our social sight.
 
Angelika Artyukh

ВРЕМЯ ЖЕНЩИН

Что же такое женское кино? Киноведы пришли к выводу, что этот концепт сложно определить как-то однозначно. Это не жанр, и не движение, он не ограничивается национальными границами, равно как и не отличается жесткими эстетическими характеристиками. Однако, понятие женского кино широко представлено в кинокритических и политических дебатах, равно как и довольно часто заявляет о себе на крупнейших кинофестивалях: достаточно вспомнить марш на Каннском кинофестивале 12 мая 2018 года, когда 82 женщины прошли по красной дорожке, требую расширить присутствие фильмов женщин-режиссёров. Число участниц соответствовало тому количеству фильмов женщин-режиссеров, которое было показано на этом крупнейшем фестивале за его 71-летнюю историю. Результатом протеста, о котором написали все ведущие медиа, стал подписанный арт-директором фестиваля Тьерри Фремо документ о выделении квот для подобных фильмов. Гендерное равноправие стало уже не просто целью протеста, а реальностью, что наблюдается и по программам других кинофестивалей. 
Например, программа последнего Берлинале уже была составлена из  41% фильмов женщин-режиссеров.
 
Программа «Время женщин» ММКФ этого года не ограничивает себя только игровыми фильмами, благо женщины традиционно очень сильны в документальном кино.  Претерпевая огромную конкуренцию, женщины совершенствуют свой авторский стиль, и, что самое главное, способствуют конструированию в кино не скопофилического взгляда на женщину как на пассивный эротический объект постоянного спектакля, доминировавшего в кино в эпоху патриархата. Этот пристальный и во многом политизированный взгляд стремится к «здоровому «нарциссизму», а также к исследованию психологии женщины, нюансов ее поведения, любовных переживаний, сексуальных авантюр, страданий, побед, завоеваний и желания преодолеть онтологическую травму – быть женщиной как слабой и угнетенной. 
 
Кино женщин-режиссеров переворачивает сложившиеся в прошлом веке представления о взгляде на человека. Оно помогает смотреть на мир совсем иначе, нежели раньше, и с каждым годом усиливающееся желание женщин создавать свои фильмы обещает корректировать наше социальное зрение. 
 
Анжелика Артюх