The 38th Moscow International Film Festival closes

The Official Award and Closing Ceremony of the 38th Moscow International Film Festival was held on June 30, 2016. The golden and silver statuettes of Saint George were presented, as usually, on the stage of Rossiya theatre. The MIFF ran from June 23 to June 30, 2016 in Moscow. The Main Competition Programme consisted of 12 films from Denmark, Serbia, The Republic of Korea, Poland, France, Iran, Brazil, Italy, The Philippines, Costa Rica, Germany, and Russia.
According to Nikita Mikhalkov, President of the Festival, this has been the most difficult festival ever, save for the very first ones. ‘Moscow is under renovation, heat, and sanctions. This is all very challenging, but the festival lives on,’ – he said. Nikita Mikhalkov expressed his special gratitude to the Moscow city mayor, Sergei Sobyanin, for providing venues for the Festival. During this year’s edition 326 films were screened at 25 different venues. The attendance reached 65 thousand people apart from over 6 thousand accredited guests, participants and journalists.
The 38th MIFF Main Competition Jury included representatives from five countries: director Ivaylo Hristov (Bulgaria), who chaired the Jury, director Ulrike Ottinger (Germany), producer Randhir Kapoor (India), actress Viktoria Isakova (Russia), and director of Eurasia film festival Rashid Nugmanov (Kazakhstan). The Documentary Competition Jury chaired by director Thomas Balmes (France) also included director of the Krakow Film Festival Krzysztof Gierat (Poland), as well as filmmaker and script-writer Sergei Debizhev (Russia).
The Jury named Puk Grasten from Denmark the Best Director of the Festival for her film 37. Silver George for Best Actress was awarded to a young actress Therese Malvar, who was only 13 at the time of the casting for Haze (The Philippines). A Korean film by Jero Yun, Mrs. B., a North Korean Woman was named the Best Documentary. Silver George for Best Short Film was awarded to Selfied by Nicole Brending (USA, Canada).She admitted that she had not expected to win with the 200-dollar film made in her own apartment. 
Jury’s Special Prize went to a Bulgarian film The Singing Shoes by Radoslav Spassov. Actress Marina Neyolova was awarded with Konstantin Stanislavsky Prize (full title of the award: ‘I Believe. Konstantin Stanislavsky’).
Over last 20 years the Jury of the Festival was chaired by the world’s most prominent filmmakers, such as Richard Gere, Theo Angelopoulos, Margarethe von Trotta, Alan Parker, Gleb Panfilov, Jean-Jacques Annaud, Fred Schepisi, Luc Besson, Geraldine Chaplin among others.
The Programme Director of the Festival is an expert in cultural studies Kirill Razlogov; the Selection Committee is chaired by a Russian film critic Andrey Plakhov.
Nikita Mikhalkov, Russian filmmaker and actor, has been the President of the Festival for many years.